WASHINGTON, D.C.—Today the Smithsonian Board of Regents, the governing body of the Smithsonian Institution, announced 17 appointments to the Board of Trustees of the future National Museum of the American Latino.

The newly named Board of Trustees will be an integral part of the leadership, planning and development of the first national Smithsonian museum dedicated to the history and culture of American Latinos. The Trustees will advise the Regents on the location, planning, design and construction of the future museum. Additionally, the Trustees will oversee the administration, fundraising and provide guidance on the acquisition of objects for the museum’s collection.

“This is a Board of Trustees that vividly reflects the fabric of America, while also giving Latinos long-overdue representation at the highest levels of government, when it comes to sharing and preserving our history,” said Lili Gil Valletta, Board Chair of Friends of the National Museum of the American Latino (FRIENDS).

“These esteemed individuals are trailblazers and business people, artists and artisans, history makers and activists, and men and women who live and breathe the core values of the American dream through their words and actions,” said FRIENDS President and CEO Estuardo Rodriguez. “We applaud their leadership and stand by to support their ambitious agenda over the months and years to come. Felicidades!”

The members of the Board of Trustees are as follows:

  • Lonnie G. Bunch III, Secretary of the Smithsonian (ex officio)
  • Kevin Gover, the Smithsonian’s Under Secretary for Museums and Culture (ex officio)
  • Margarita Paláu-Hernández, chair of the Smithsonian National Latino Board
  • Franklin D. Raines, member of the Smithsonian Board of Regents
  • Raul A. Anaya, president of business banking for Bank of America
  • José Andrés, restaurateur, chef and owner of ThinkFoodGroup; creator of World Central Kitchen
  • Emilio Estefan, Grammy Award-winning musician, songwriter and TV producer; co-founder of the Gloria Estefan Foundation
  • Rick Gomez, executive vice president and chief food and beverage officer for Target Corp.
  • Alberto Ibargüen, president and CEO of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation; former publisher of the Miami Herald and El Nuevo Herald
  • Eva Longoria, award-winning actor and producer; founder of the Eva Longoria Foundation
  • Dr. J. Mario Molina, principal of JM Molina Investments; former CEO of Molina Healthcare
  • Henry R. Muñoz III, chairman emeritus of Muñoz & Co.
  • José Luis Prado, executive advisor partner with Wind Point Partners; former president of Quaker Oats North America
  • Alfredo Rivera, president of Coca-Cola North America
  • Sofía Vergara, Emmy-nominated actress, television producer, presenter and model

The members of Congress appointed to the board are:

  • Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA), appointed by the Congressional Hispanic Conference
  • Rep. Tony Cárdenas (D-CA), appointed by the Congressional Hispanic Caucus

Additional candidates are pending and will be announced soon. Please see the full statement from the Smithsonian Institution here.